Seed Paper that grows

Today I’ve been at the Coldwell Banker Lake Oconee Real Estate office all day trying to catch up on some work. Having just gotten back into the real estate business, I spent the better part of this morning talking with another coworker who has been with my company for 17 years. Obviously experienced, she shared with me how she got her start in real estate, the ups and downs she has seen along the way, the MANY changes she’s encountered since she first took this job on, and why she thinks at the end of the day we are all going to be ok. For someone like myself, a new career comes with a lot of hesitations. I want to make decisions that are not only going to prove profitable for myself but most importantly for my clients and company as well. After having spoken with her, I feel a great deal better than I previously had because according to her I am already leaps and bounds ahead of where most in my position would be. I’ve gotten some experience working with our computer systems and have already spent a great deal of time driving around and just getting to know the lake area. Even having grown up here, the lake itself continues to grow and change everyday and there are constantly new homes, new streets, and entirely new subdivisions going up all the time. There is plenty to  be learned!

Ok, so I’m a step ahead of the game so that is great to hear! Now, the next important thing for me to is to get my name out there. “Find your niche,” my coworker said to me this morning. After doing some research I’ve come up with the idea to send out an introductory card to any and everybody I can think of. The card itself is actually going to be similar to those you would find from Botanical Paperworks in that you can actually take the card and plant the paper it’s printed on and it will grow into a flower! I’ve seen the idea at weddings before as part of the favor but I’ve never actually used them myself. To me, it’s the perfect way to introduce myself to an area that continues to grow and just get better and better! And who knows…one day down the road, could be six months, a year, or several years from now (if you’re a good plant keeper), that someone make look up and see that flower and say, “hey, I remember who sent me that!” You never know but it’s worth a shot!

What do you think? Good idea?

About Margie

Living back in my birthplace, the Lake Oconee/Greensboro area of Georgia after several years of traveling and sailing in the South Pacific. Blogging about life, business, real estate, and news. Feel free to contact me with any questions or just to say "hi!" This blog is the most popular online news source in the area reaching hundreds, sometimes thousands, of residents and visitors a day! Thanks! Margie aka Marge at Large, Coldwell Banker Lake Oconee Realty
This entry was posted in Real Estate, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

