Starting a New Year’s Diet – Bodyplex Lake Oconee

We’ve all done it. The inevitable New Year’s diet. January 1st will mark the beginning of a “new year” for millions of Americans in terms of starting to eat better, exercise more, and maintain a more healthy lifestyle. I have fallen victim to the notion on more than one occasion in my life and have made it a point to never take the steps towards a happier, healthier me on what I consider “doom’s day” again.

Truth be known to all of us the key to it all is just consistency. It’s so simple and easy to bust out that first week in the gym, eat chicken three or four nights in the first week, drink more water, and maybe even notice the difference in how we feel and how we look. Slowly but surely, however, at least for myself I slip away from that routine and before I know I’m starting all over again in March so I’ll be swimsuit ready for summer. Ugh. Such a vicious and never ending cycle.

This coming year in particular I have something else that is inspiring me to really make a change in the fitness aspect of my life. Our wedding. I have nine months to get in shape for the big day. That is a long time. Plenty of time for me to get to the point that I want to be. Problem is that there are many months between now and then that I have to commit to being at the gym and if I am going to do it I don’t want it to be for two months and then I fall off the wagon because I “still have six more months to get ready” so I’ll start in April. Then before I know it it’s May, then July, then my wedding day and I’ll have made no steps towards becoming the more fitness committed person that I really want to be. I know that I have to make a lifestyle change that is going to not only be for the coming nine months but for the rest of my life. Fortunately for me there are places around the area that help me do just that!

I am a member of Bodyplex, voted best fitness center in the area by Lake Oconee Living. Originally started up the road in Suwanee, Georgia, the franchise has grown to almost 20 different locations in the past 9 years, one of them being right here at Lake Oconee! Whether the route you take to achieve your fitness goals includes weight lifting, cardio, personal training, or group fitness, Bodyplex Lake Oconee has all that and more! There are as many as 9 different fitness classes personally designed by the Bodyplex family to appeal to any and everybody including Body Pump, Spinning, and the new hit workout sensation Zumba!

After working up a sweat you can treat yourself to a nice long shower in either the men’s or women’s locker rooms and if you want a nice glow to go along with your slim bod you can hop into one of the tanning beds on site.

Members of Reynolds Plantation have the opportunity to become a member of the exquisite Lake Club, the hub of member social and wellness activity. This member-only facility offers tennis courts, indoor/outdoor swimming pools, whirlpool spas, a state of the art fitness center, cafe, and wellness center. It doesn’t get much better than this. Bodyplex and the Lake Club are just two of the many fitness inspired locations in the area.

Living around the lake there are no excuses to unhealthiness. Walking trails, rolling hills, tennis courts, and during the summertime, the lake itself, are just beckoning you to get up and use them! At the end of the day I almost feel guilty for NOT taking more of advantage of the wonderful area that lies just outside my backdoor. I’m making a vow now to take notice more and to get out and enjoy it. Here’s to a happy and healthier 2011 for us all!

About Margie

Living back in my birthplace, the Lake Oconee/Greensboro area of Georgia after several years of traveling and sailing in the South Pacific. Blogging about life, business, real estate, and news. Feel free to contact me with any questions or just to say "hi!" This blog is the most popular online news source in the area reaching hundreds, sometimes thousands, of residents and visitors a day! Thanks! Margie aka Marge at Large, Coldwell Banker Lake Oconee Realty
This entry was posted in Activities. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Starting a New Year’s Diet – Bodyplex Lake Oconee

  1. Clare says:

    I literally just posted about how much I miss summer and one of the things I miss the most is the infiniti pool at the Lake Club! I had no idea there was another Lake Oconee bride or person on WB!!

Leave a Reply

